Tigard Public Library and other WCCLS Libraries are overdue fine free. Due dates and checkout times will remain the same. Patrons are responsible for returning materials on time to ensure that others have access those items.
Patrons are responsible for replacement fees for materials that are lost, damaged or never returned.
If an account has more than $20 in lost or damaged items, the patron cannot check out additional items until the fines are under the $20 threshold. The library accepts cash, checks, debit or credit cards for payment.
Return Your Items
Try out our automated check-in system. It’s like a conveyor belt, only smarter. The new system will check in up to 2,500 items per hour. You can use it inside the library or at the new walk-up return outside at the southeast end.
The machine reads the identification tag on the items and sorts them in the correct bin. Patrons have expressed concern about the lag time between the time they return items and the time they are removed from their records. This system will remove the items from patrons’ records faster. They can be reshelved quicker so that other patrons can check them out.
Tigard is the third library in Washington County to install the system. Watch the video! So far library users of all ages who have used the machines have reacted with one word: “Cool!
Check Out a Portable Hotspot at the Library
Get Wi-Fi Wherever You Go Check Out a Portable Hotspot at the Library
A portable hotspot provides Wi-Fi access to the internet by connecting with a cellular network. You can hook it up to your laptop, tablet, game console or other devices. Now, you can check out a hotspot at the library for two weeks. You can reserve them
just like most other items.
They will work in areas that have Sprint 4G LTE cellular coverage. They must be checked out and returned only at the Tigard Library. Tigard is the first library in Washington County to offer these handy devices.
Mobile hotspots come in handy for many things. They can bring the internet to homes that don’t have internet service. Travelers can use hotspots to hook up to the internet between destinations. New residents can access the internet using the hotspots until their service begins.
To check out a hotspot device, go to the Bestseller section on the first floor and take a video box labeled Wi-Fi hotspot to the check-out desk. They can open up a whole new world of research, access and fun.
Reserve Items from other Washington County Libraries
Tigard Library patrons can access most of the books and materials in all Washington County Public Libraries because it is a member of Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS). The online library catalog lists all materials at member libraries. Most of these items can be reserved by Tigard Library cardholders.Patrons may request items from another WCCLS library. At times there is a waiting list for popular titles. You may place a hold online from home, at the Public Access terminals in the Library, over the phone or at the Reference Desk.You may pick up most items at any WCCLS library. When they arrive at the library, patrons will be notified by e-mail or phone. Items will be held for seven days. Patrons
may pick up reserved items from the holds shelves on the first floor. We keep some reserved items such as Interlibrary Loans, E-Readers and other electronic devices behind the check-out counter.In order to pick up reserved items, patrons must bring the card or card number of the person who placed the hold, even if it is a family member. When using a card number only, patrons must be able to verify registration information for security purposes.If you do not find the item you are looking for in the WCCLS system, you can make a request through
interlibrary loan or suggest a purchase. Hold Limits
Certain types of materials have limits on how many items may be reserved at any time.
- Audiobooks (ex. Books on CD, Books on Tape)—50
- Compact Discs—50
- Inter-Library Loans—5 **
** For items from libraries outside of Washington County.
Most of these limits apply to all libraries in Washington County. A few are specific to Tigard. If you have questions, please contact the Circulation Desk at 503-684-6537.
Interlibrary Loan: Borrow from outside libraries
Need a book or article that we don't own? Let us try to get it for you!
Through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) you can request materials that are not owned by libraries in Washington County. Interlibrary Loans come from other libraries around the country. Please allow a few weeks for processing and mailing.
Submit ILL requests online, in person at the Reference desk, by phone at 503-718-2517, or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line "ILL REQUEST" and include your full name, library card number and home phone number. Note: Service is available to all patrons holding a valid WCCLS library card.
For quicker service, please provide complete and accurate information about the requested item, if possible, including: Complete title, author, book number (ISBN), publisher, date of publication, source of information, journal article citation - date, pages, volume, etc.
What can you borrow? Material such as books, videos, DVDs, CDs, microfilm, musical scores, newspaper and journal articles. Console video games (Wii, PlayStation, Xbox, etc.) are not available through interlibrary loan.
- We will notify you when your items arrive. There is a limit of five active requests per patron.
- Interlibrary loans requested at the Tigard Public Library can only be picked up at, and returned here.
- Requests for materials published this calendar year should be submitted as a suggestion for purchase, rather than interlibrary loan requests.
- Most ILL requests can be filled at no charge. If a lending library charges fees to borrow their materials, we would notify you before proceeding.