For the most current, up-to-date information, please refer to the Oregon Department
of Motor Vehicles website:
Oregon Department of Motor
How does Oregon Law define a variety of motorized vehicles?
Find out more here. (Photos included)
Motor Assisted Scooters
The information listed in the definitions above and the information
below will give you a brief synopsis of what's contained in the Oregon Revised Statutes. These
are the "rules" we go by when we find someone operating any motor vehicle, motor assisted
scooter or bicycle unsafely. The Oregon Revised Statutes can be found on the web:
http://landru.leg.state.or.us/ors/. The specific section
for motor assisted scooters is found in ORS 814.510 to 814.536.
ORS 814.534 governs the use of protective headgear.
The remainder of the Statutes through ORS 814.536 govern the operation of a motor assisted scooter.
If you or anyone you know owns a motor assisted scooter, the information contained in these sections are
important for the operator to know and understand.
- ORS 814.510 - An operator of a motor assisted scooter upon a public way is subject to the provisions applicable to, and has the same rights and duties as the operator of any other vehicle operating on the highways except: 1) Those provisions that by their vary nature can have no application, and 2) when otherwise specifically provided under the vehicle code.
- ORS 814.512 - A person operating a motor assisted scooter commits the offense of unlawful operation........if: 1) The person is under 16 years of age; or 2) The person operates a motor assisted scooter at a rate of speed exceeding 15 mph. This is a class D traffic violation - fine $77.00.
- ORS 814.516 - Refers to the requirement that the driver of a motor assisted scooter be operated on a bicycle lane or path if they are available. There is additional info available when this would not apply.
- ORS 814.516 - Motor assisted scooters are not allowed on bicycle lanes or paths in a State park unless the operator is disabled.
- ORS 814.518 - Motor assisted scooters may not be operated on any highway (street) with a speed limit greater than 25 mph unless crossing such highway (street) or using a designated bicycle lane.
If you have any questions concerning the interpretation of these or any other Statutes, please
contact Sgt. Frisendahl at firstname.lastname@example.org or phone 503-718-2567.
From the Judge's Desk...
Rules of the Road:
Judge Michael O'Brien addresses common violations
that show up frequently on his Municipal Court docket.