||Always buckle up, no matter how short the trip. Three out of four crashes occur within
25 miles of the driver's home. And remember, buckling up is required by law.
||Make wearing safety belts a family policy. This will protect your loved ones no matter whose vehicle they are in.
||Insist that anyone riding in your vehicle buckle up. This will keep others safe when they're with you,
and may get them in the habit of wearing a safety belt.
||Wear your safety belt properly. That means the shoulder harness is worn over the shoulder, not under the arm or behind the back. Do NOT place two people in one belt. The lap belt should be positioned as low as possible across the tops of the thighs, NOT over the soft part of the abdomen. Both portions must be worn where provided, in order to comply with Oregon Law
(ORS 811.210) The law also requires owners maintain belts in working order.
||Even if your vehicle has airbags, wear your safety belt. Airbags are
Supplemental Restraint Systems. That means they work with safety belts, not in place of them.
||Never hold a child in your arms in a moving vehicle. In a crash, the child
will likely be pulled from your arms and can be crushed by your body.
||Always place small children in an approved child safety seat in the back seat.
Oregon law requires drivers to secure children under age 4 and weighing less than 40 pounds in a child safety
seat. Beginning January 1, 2002, children over 4 but under 6 years of age or children weighing between
40 and 60 pounds must be secured with a booster seat. Children over 6 years and 60 pounds need a booster
seat until lap-shoulder belts fit correctly without one.
||Look for the FMVSS-213 label when you buy a child safety seat. That label
means the seat has passed U.S. Department of Transportation safety standards. If you don't see the FMVSS-213
label, don't buy the seat.
||Even if a child resists, use a safety seat. You wouldn't let a small child decide
whether to cross a busy street and you must not let a child decide how to ride in a car.
||Follow the manufacturer's instructions for safety seat use. Read and heed the
owner's manual to assure proper use of a child safety seat. For more information on child safety seats,
contact Oregon's Child Safety Seat Resource Center @ 1-800-772-1315.