Most Library materials circulate for 21 days except:
Best-sellers (including books, CDs, books on CD) — 14 days
Best-seller e-readers — 14 days
Best-seller blue label Blu-rays and DVDs — 7 days
Reference Materials — Cannot be checked out
Cultural Pass — 1 day
You may renew most items up to four times. Best-sellers and items reserved
by another patron cannot be renewed. Exceptions to the above are clearly marked on the item. If you have a question
about how long something may be loaned, please ask us.
Please have your card number and password available when requesting renewals. Items overdue
at the time of renewal will accrue fines.
Regular cardholders may have 100 total items checked out on their account at any given time. However,
certain types of materials have special limits.*
Admission Passes (Cultural passes)—2 separate passes
Audiobooks (Books on CD, Books on Tape)—100
Inter-Library Loans** Please call 503-684-6537 for information.
Bestseller collections (DVDs, Blu-rays, Books on CD, Music CDs, Books) have a limit of three each
that can be checked out at any given time. The overdue fines for DVDs and Blu-Rays are $1 per day per item.
Reserve Items and Borrow Materials from Other Libraries
Tigard Library patrons can access most of the books and materials in all Washington
County Public Libraries because it is a member of Washington County Cooperative
Library Services (WCCLS). The online library catalog lists all materials at
member libraries. Most of these items can be reserved by Tigard Library cardholders.
Patrons may request items from another WCCLS library. At times there is a waiting list
for popular titles. You may place
a hold online from home, at the Public Access terminals in the Library, over the phone
or at the Reference Desk.
Reserved items may be picked up at any WCCLS library. When they arrive at the library, patrons
will be notified by e-mail or phone. Items will be held for seven days. Patrons may pick up
reserved books themselves from the Self-Holds shelf on the first floor. Reserved audio-visual
items are kept behind the checkout desk.
In order to pick up reserved items, patrons must bring the card or card number of the person
who placed the hold, even if it is a family member. When using a card number only, patrons
must be able to verify registration information for security purposes.
Certain types of materials have limits on how many items may be reserved at any time.
Audiobooks (ex. Books on CD, Books on Tape)—50
Inter-Library Loans—5 **
* There may be exceptions for special types of patron cards.
** For items from libraries outside of Washington County.
Most of these limits apply to all libraries in Washington County. A few are specific to Tigard. If you have
questions, please contact the Circulation Desk at 503-684-6537.
Materials are due back on the date printed on the receipt. Materials
that are not returned by their due date will accrue fines at the following rates:
DVDs, Blu-Rays and eReaders - $1 per day per item
Other Materials - 15¢ per day per item
If account has more than $10 in fines, patrons will not be allowed to check out
additional items until fines are reduced. There is no grace period. Fines start
to accumulate on the first day past due. Materials may be renewed to prevent
additional fines only if the items are renewable. The library will accept cash, checks, debit or credit
cards for payment.